2020 faculty

David Barstow journalism

Adam Foulds

Monica Lavín manuscript seminar
Alejandra Xanic journalism

Cyrus Cassells

David Huerta

Emily Raboteau
literary non-fiction

Alberto Chimal

Victor LaValle

Elizabeth Rosner manuscript seminar

“Teaching at Under the Volcano was an unforgettable experience for me. It offers this exquisite blend of place and talent, all under the expert orchestration of Magda Bogin, and all of it aimed at the hard but essential work of forging better story tellers. I am proud to call myself a member of the Under the Volcano community, a sprawling, growing collection of writers who are now cheering each other on through all the ups and downs that inevitably flow from that endless battle to summon the right words.”

— David Barstow, Pulitzer Prize Reporter.

2020 reading fellows

UTV Reading Fellows are exciting young writers with a first book either published or in the pipeline. Most are alumni of Under the Volcano. Iin residence throughout the Core Program, they assist master class writers as a second pair of eyes, with a special focus on suggestions for revision.  During the Extension Residency they work on their own writing and are available by appointment for one-on-one consultations by genre.

Francisco Cantú
literary non-fiction

Gabriela Damián
Fiction, Screenwriting

Tim MacGabhann
fiction, journalism, poetry

Nelly Rosario

Ayşegül Savaş

"When I was feeling overwhelmed at the sheer talent and accomplishments of the faculty, a fellow writing student said to me, “The only difference between them and us is time.”

MARTHA MORRISON, Toronto, Canada

"UTV is more than a learning experience set against a powerful landscape... it offers a mental space for creativity."


© 2020 Under the Volcano International.
All rights reserved