Skip to content Skip to footer
English EN Spanish ES

Full Fellowships

The application deadline for named fellowships is August 15, 2022.

Our named fellowships recognize emerging and established writers of exceptional talent. Scroll down for requirements and expectations. Click on specific fellowship images for eligibility. 

All fellowships cover tuition for the three week program, accommodation in the village, RT transportation to Mexico City from a single point of origin in either Mexico or the US and a small stipend. Fellows should expect to pay for their own meals except for breakfast and to cover the cost of the one-hour drive to Tepoztlán from Mexico City by bus or taxi.

Fellowship recipients are expected to be full participants in the UTV community.  They are required  to provide written proof of their availability to remain in Tepoztlán for the entire program and to attend all ancillary events, including group meals and guest presentations in addition to their master classes. Fellows are expected to work full-time on their creative projects and not on outside commitments while in the program. Family members are not permitted.

Full Named Fellowships


  • online application;
  • recent c.v.;
  • cover letter describing your reasons for applying and confirming your commitment to participate fully in all program activities;
  • 25-page double-spaced writing sample in Word or PDF;
  • two letters of recommendation from people who know your character and work.

N.B. Letters and all other supporting material must be uploaded from the application; we will not read items sent separately or after the deadline.


  • submit a one-page final report to the program director;
  • write a thank you letter to the donors;
  • mention Under the Volcano in their official bio as they share it on social media and in publications and on their cv;
  • agree to assist the program with future recruitment and by curating UTV events in their home community as appropriate;
  • acknowledge Under the Volcano in any publications that directly benefitted from UTV’s support.

In addition, all applicants for Spanish-language fellowships must provide proof of advanced competence in written and spoken English to ensure full participation in the life of the overall community of writers.

Past Fellows

La Güera Trigos

Sylvia Aguilar Zéleny
Selene Angeles Diaz
Elsa Treviño
Itzel Guevara del Ángel
María José Gómez Castillo
Mariana Roa Oliva
Montserrat Rodríguez Ruelas
Rodrigo Méndez


Margot Adler Fellowship

Jessica Camille Aguirre
Diego Courchay
Marcos Martínez
Casey O’Brien