utv2021

A COMMUNITY OF THE IMAGINATION

EXCLUSIVE EVENTS WITH LEADING POETS, NOVELISTS, JOURNALISTS AND SCIENTISTS

UTV 2021 begins with an opening weekend designed to inspire our collective mind as we look beyond the first anniversary of the pandemic. We’ll have an invocation from three extraordinary poets and hear from leading scientists, novelists, journalists and thinkers. Our program expands through the month of April with visits from major writers in all genres.

All Community of the Imagination events are free for master class participants and available to the general public.

OPENING WEEKEND

Saturday, April 10 

I

10 am PST / 12 pm MEX/CST / 1 pm EST / 6 pm UK / 7 pm EUR

Invocation

Cyrus Cassells (US), Ilya Kaminsky (US & Ukraine) & Rita Dove (US)

Words of Witness

Carolyn Forché (US) & Elena Poniatowska (Mexico)

12 pm PST/ 2 pm MEX/CST/ 3 pm EST/ 8 pm UK/ 9 pm EUR

Biology Meets Journalism

Valeria Souza (Mexico) & Ginger Thompson (US)

Sunday, April 11 

B

10 am PST/  12 pm MEX/CST/  1 pm EST/  6 pm UK / 7 pm EUR

Black Holes and The Lure of the Unknown

Alberto Chimal (Mexico) & TBA

12 pm PST/ 2 pm MEX/CST/ 3 pm EST/ 8 pm UK /  9 pm EUR

Writing the Future Now

Annalee Newitz (US), Victor LaValle (US) & TBA

WEDNESDAYS at HOME

Writers on Writing

April 14

10 am PST /12 pm MEX/CST/ 1 pm EST/ 6 pm UK/ 7 pm EUR

Writing in the Time of Corona

Gina Apostol (Philippines)
Francisco  Goldman (Guatemala/US)
Luisa Valenzuela (Argentina)
Jonathan Levi (US),  Moderator

April 21 

 10 am PST /12 pm MEX/CST/ 1 pm EST /6 pm UK/ 7 pm EUR

Speculative Matters

Nelly Rosario,  Sandy Alexandre &  Sheree Renée Thomas  (all of the US)

April 28

10 am PST/ 12 pm MEX/CST/ 1 pm EST/ 6 pm UK /7 pm EUR

The Art of the Interview

Magda Bogin (NY) interviews Adam Biles (UK) 
Shakespeare & Company, Paris

GENERAL PUBLIC

© 2020 Under the Volcano International.
All rights reserved